Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Wolfgang A. Herrmann is one of the most cited German chemists (ISI) with over 800 scientific publications and about 80 patents. After studying chemistry at TUM, Prof. Herrmann obtained his doctorate (1973) and completed his lecturer qualification at the University of Regensburg (1978). He conducted research with Prof. P.S. Skell as a German Research Foundation (DFG) fellow at Penn State University in the USA (1975/76). Following a full professorship in Frankfurt (1982-1985), he took over the Chair of Noble Prize Laureate Prof. E.O. Fischer at TUM in 1985, acting as Director oft the Institute of Inorganic Chemistry.
Prof. Herrmann has been awarded with 13 honorary doctorates from universities in Germany and abroad as well as the most prestigious German research awards, including the Leibniz Prize of the German Research Foundation (1987), the Max Planck Research Award (1991) and the Bavarian Maximilian Order for Science and the Arts (2012).
As 39th president of TUM (1995-2019), Prof. Herrmann shaped the university´s structural transformation to an entrepreneurial university. From 2017 to 2019, he was also chair of the structural commission for the Technical University of Nuremberg/ Germany.
Prof. Herrmann has been active as President Emeritus for TUM since 2019 and, in the same year, has become Deputy Chairman of the Skolkovo Foundation Board of Directors (Moscow) and non-Executive Director of TUM Asia Pte. Ltd., Singapore. Besides, he has also been Honorary President of Kutaisi International University (KIU) since October 2020 and Honorary President of New Uzbekistan University (NUU) since July 2021.  He holds memberships in serveral Advirsory Boards of industry and business associations.